Delhi High Court: Lakhanpal suspension extension order listed
A Delhi High Court notice entry dated 30 October 2026 lists an order extending Rachna Tiwari Lakhanpal's suspension. The listing does not disclose the extension's duration, reasons or legal basis.

In this article
Listen to this article
The Delhi High Court listed an order concerning the extension of Delhi Judicial Service officer Rachna Tiwari Lakhanpal’s suspension on its General Notices page, with the entry dated 30 October 2026. The listing identifies the document as an extension order but does not state how long the suspension has been extended.
The full suspension order was not available for this report. The notice entry does not disclose its reasons, effective date, issuing authority or next review date. The date displayed on the notices page establishes the date attached to the listing, not necessarily the date on which the order was made.
The development concerns Lakhanpal’s service status. The listing records no finding on any criminal allegation against her and does not identify the proceedings considered when extending her suspension. It also contains no account of her position on the extension.
Earlier CBI records describe suspension and allegations
A Central Bureau of Investigation first information report dated 27 July 2022 already described Lakhanpal as being under suspension. That document identified her as the then Senior Civil Judge (West) at Tis Hazari Courts in Delhi. It does not establish when her suspension began or whether it continued without interruption until the latest listing.
The CBI registered that FIR, the document recording allegations for investigation, over alleged disproportionate assets: assets allegedly exceeding known lawful sources of income. The complaint reproduced in the FIR alleged that Lakhanpal and her husband, advocate Alok Lakhanpal, possessed disproportionate assets worth Rs 2,99,07,036 during the period examined by investigators.
According to the CBI document, that period ran from 27 July 2006, which it identified as the date she joined the Delhi Judicial Service, to 28 September 2016. These are the agency’s allegations, not findings established by the High Court’s latest notice.
The complaint said scrutiny of documents seized during an earlier corruption investigation led to the assets allegations. It described a CBI trap operation on 28 September 2016 involving advocate Vishal Mehan, whom it identified as a local commissioner appointed by Lakhanpal. A local commissioner carries out a task assigned by a court.
According to the complaint, Mehan was arrested during that operation and Rs 1 lakh in alleged bribe money was recovered from him. The CBI also recorded the arrests of Lakhanpal and her husband and alleged that Rs 4 lakh in trap money was recovered from their residence. The agency said a search yielded Rs 94,09,900 in cash it described as unaccounted for, along with documents concerning assets and expenditure.
The complaint recorded that a chargesheet in the earlier case had been filed before a CBI Special Judge on 30 June 2018, after prosecution sanction was obtained. It identified the sanctioning authority as the Lieutenant Governor, acting in consultation with the Delhi High Court. Prosecution sanction is official authorisation to prosecute; a chargesheet sets out the prosecution’s accusations. Neither establishes guilt.
The October notice does not expressly connect the suspension extension to either of those cases. The older CBI record supplies background about Lakhanpal’s service status and the agency’s allegations, but not the reasons for the latest administrative action. The available extracts do not set out her response to the assets allegations or a judicial determination of them.
Separate challenge recorded in March order
A Delhi High Court order in Rachna Tiwari Lakhanpal v. Enforcement Directorate, dated 9 March 2026 and reproduced on Indian Kanoon, records a separate challenge involving money-laundering proceedings. Justice Manoj Jain dealt with the petition, numbered CRL.M.C. 489/2026.
According to that order, Lakhanpal sought to have an order dated 22 October 2024 quashed, or set aside. The challenged order concerned taking cognizance of an offence punishable under Section 4 of the Prevention of Money Laundering Act, 2002. Section 4 provides punishment for money laundering. Taking cognizance means a court formally takes notice of an alleged offence for judicial proceedings; it is not a conviction.
The High Court recorded that the Enforcement Directorate’s special counsel had appeared on advance notice but had not received a copy of the petition and could not comment on its contentions. Lakhanpal’s senior counsel said a copy would be supplied that day.
Justice Jain allowed the Enforcement Directorate to file a short reply before the next hearing, with an advance copy to Lakhanpal, while preserving its rights and arguments. That permission allowed the agency to respond without giving up its legal objections.
The available March order did not decide Lakhanpal’s challenge on its merits. Neither that procedural order nor the October notice establishes the present outcome of the money-laundering challenge.
What suspension rules explain, and what the notice leaves open
The Department of Personnel and Training’s information document titled Suspension, updated on 4 November 2022, explains suspension under the central civil-service framework. It describes suspension as a measure that keeps a government servant away from work, rather than a penalty, and says the decision should be carefully considered on the merits of each case.
The document summarises Rule 10 of the Central Civil Services (Classification, Control and Appeal) Rules, 1965. It identifies circumstances including contemplated or pending disciplinary proceedings and a criminal case under investigation, inquiry or trial. Those are circumstances in which the framework permits suspension, not evidence of the grounds used in Lakhanpal’s case.
The department’s compilation also describes review safeguards. It says a suspension order must be reviewed before 90 days expire, on a review committee’s recommendation, with a decision either to extend or revoke it. Subsequent reviews must precede the expiry of the extended period, and each extension cannot exceed 180 days.
The document notes an exception to the review requirement for deemed suspension where the employee remains in detention. Deemed suspension means suspension arising automatically under specified conditions, rather than through a separate discretionary decision.
These provisions explain the central framework described in the department’s document. The High Court’s notice entry does not identify the rules applied to Lakhanpal, so it cannot establish which review requirement governed this extension or whether any exception was relevant. The extension’s duration, legal basis and next review date remain undisclosed in the listing.
Please log in to leave a comment.