Legal News

Satdhari Lal Sahu: Convicted of bribery, gets three years

The CBI said an Ahmedabad court convicted former Jaipur archivist Satdhari Lal Sahu in a bribery case over archival record copies, imposing three years of rigorous imprisonment and a Rs 20,000 fine.

Satdhari Lal Sahu was convicted in a bribery case involving copies of archival records.
Satdhari Lal Sahu was convicted in a bribery case involving copies of archival records (Digital Pradesh)

Listen to this article

A CBI court in Ahmedabad on 28 October 2026 convicted Satdhari Lal Sahu, then an archivist at the National Archives of India’s Record Centre in Jaipur, Rajasthan, and sentenced him to three years of rigorous imprisonment in a bribery case, the Central Bureau of Investigation said. The court also imposed a fine of Rs 20,000, according to the agency’s announcement.

The prosecution concerned a demand for money to supply copies of archival records. The CBI said Sahu had allegedly sought Rs 15,000 from the complainant for copies of old CRO records relating to a survey of Rajkot and a file of old British land records.

The agency described the demand as illegal gratification: an alleged bribe for providing the documents, not an authorised payment for copies. Its account does not specify any applicable copying fee or explain the abbreviation CRO.

The complaint, trap and prosecution

The CBI registered the case on 26 December 2012. According to the agency, it laid a trap and caught Sahu accepting the money from the complainant. A trap, in this account, was the investigative operation through which the agency intercepted the alleged payment.

Sahu was arrested that day, the CBI said. Investigators also searched his residence and office. The announcement does not describe what those searches recovered or identify any documentary, witness or other evidence subsequently presented at trial.

After completing its investigation, the CBI filed a chargesheet against Sahu on 28 June 2013. A chargesheet sets out an investigating agency’s accusations for the court to consider; filing it is a prosecution step, not a judicial finding of guilt.

The CBI said the court convicted and sentenced Sahu after trial. The allegation that prompted the investigation, the agency’s account of catching him accepting money, and the court outcome are therefore distinct parts of the case. The announcement supplies the prosecution’s account and reports the outcome, but does not reproduce the court’s findings on individual pieces of evidence.

The dates given by the CBI place the sentencing more than 13 years after the chargesheet. The release does not explain the intervening proceedings, identify when the trial began or give reasons for the elapsed time. That interval cannot, on this evidence, be attributed to any party or particular procedural delay.

What the archival records establish

The CBI identified Sahu’s position at the time of the alleged offence as archivist at the National Archives of India’s Record Centre in Jaipur. The records sought by the complainant concerned Rajkot and historical British land documentation; the agency did not explain why the complainant wanted them or whether copies were eventually supplied.

A separate National Archives of India document provides a later administrative reference to Sahu. Its status report on Annual Performance Appraisal Reports, dated 7 June 2024, lists him among Group B officers, records the designation “ADA I/C”, and gives Jaipur in the remarks column.

That entry covers appraisal-report periods from 2003-04 to 2022-23. Annual performance appraisal reports are personnel assessment records; the document is an administrative status list, not an account of the criminal proceedings.

The listing does not explain Sahu’s employment position at sentencing or record any disciplinary outcome connected with this case. Nor does the later designation contradict the CBI’s description of the position he held when the alleged offence occurred: the documents concern different periods and serve different purposes.

The legal framework and its limits here

The CBI’s announcement does not identify the statutory provisions under which Sahu was charged or convicted. It would therefore be inaccurate to assign a particular offence section or sentencing range to his conviction without the judgment.

For general context, the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1988 provides a framework for prosecuting public-sector corruption. The statutory text published by the Department of Personnel and Training defines public servants to include people in government service or government pay. It also defines public duty as a duty in which the state, the public or the community has an interest.

Sections 3 and 4 provide for specially appointed judges to hear offences under that Act. In plain terms, the Central or state government can appoint qualified judges for an area, a case or a group of cases, and offences specified under this framework are tried by those judges.

Section 5 addresses their procedure and powers, including the power to take cognizance of an offence – formally take it up for judicial consideration – without a separate committal proceeding. These provisions explain the statutory framework, but do not establish the exact charges or procedural decisions in Sahu’s case.

The departmental text also records a 2018 amendment concerning trial duration. It calls for day-to-day hearings as far as practicable and an endeavour to finish trials within two years, with reasons recorded for extensions and an ordinary aggregate limit of four years. The qualifications matter: the text does not present every elapsed period as proof of a breach, and the available account does not establish how that provision applied to this prosecution.

Court reasoning and appeal status

The full judgment was not available for this report. The account of the prosecution and outcome rests on the CBI’s announcement, rather than a review of the court’s reasoning.

The release does not name the presiding judge, provide a case number or describe Sahu’s defence. No response from Sahu or his legal representative appears in the available reporting. The material consequently does not establish which prosecution assertions he contested or how the court resolved those arguments.

The CBI’s announcement also does not state whether an appeal has been filed or whether the sentence has been suspended pending a challenge. The court’s reasons for choosing the prison term and fine remain unavailable.

Registrar Bureau
Registrar Bureau

The Registrar Bureau is the official publication arm of the Digital Pradesh public affairs network. Backed by a cross-functional collective of journalists, editors, legal scholars, and public policy researchers, we specialize in delivering verified, step-by-step guides on public services, legal frameworks, and digital governance across the World.